The Grinch

by theodotdoron

Dr. Who famously travels through time. My tunnel travels along Dr.Who’s time route. I can travel anywhere and to any God given time. Where would I go? Here! Bereisheet bara Elohim et hashamayim ve’et ha’aretz

בְּרֵאשִׁית בָּרָא אֱלֹהִים אֵת הַשָּׁמַיִם וְאֵת הָאָֽרֶץ

Uhm, in the beginning. That’s where I would want to go. Whatever anyone may believe about the beginning of the Universe, seeing it happen, gosh, I guess I would probably have a heart attack just from looking on. 

Seeing stars forming, primeval soup being stirred, faster than light speed swooshing past. Not to forget, that thunderous voice making it all happen. Oh, if only I could have that one peak. 

I wonder sometimes, since, being with God, and He being eternal, He in essence is outside of time, maybe, after I die, I will be able to look on those things that have already taken place?

One of the favorite passages of scripture are those when God finally talks back to Job. 

“Where were you when I created the earth?
    Tell me, since you know so much!
Who decided on its size? Certainly you’ll know that!
    Who came up with the blueprints and measurements?
How was its foundation poured,
    and who set the cornerstone,
While the morning stars sang in chorus
    and all the angels shouted praise?
And who took charge of the ocean
    when it gushed forth like a baby from the womb?
That was me! I wrapped it in soft clouds,
    and tucked it in safely at night.
Then I made a playpen for it,
    a strong playpen so it couldn’t run loose,
And said, ‘Stay here, this is your place.
    Your wild tantrums are confined to this place.’”

“Have you ever gotten to the true bottom of things,
    explored the labyrinthine caves of deep ocean?
Do you know the first thing about death?
    Do you have one clue regarding death’s dark mysteries?
And do you have any idea how large this earth is?
    Speak up if you have even the beginning of an answer.

“Do you know where Light comes from
    and where Darkness lives
So you can take them by the hand
    and lead them home when they get lost?

Are you the one who gave the horse his prowess
    and adorned him with a shimmering mane?
Did you create him to prance proudly
    and strike terror with his royal snorts?
He paws the ground fiercely, eager and spirited,
    then charges into the fray.
He laughs at danger, fearless,
    doesn’t shy away from the sword.
The banging and clanging
    of quiver and lance don’t faze him.
He quivers with excitement, and at the trumpet blast
    races off at a gallop.
At the sound of the trumpet he neighs mightily,
    smelling the excitement of battle from a long way off,
    catching the rolling thunder of the war cries.”

And, I always wanted to be the one who can answer to the question “where were you?” “Right here with you, God!”

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/tunnel-vision/

