Letter snob

by theodotdoron

Must say: Never! True. I know, sounds terribly stuck up, but as far as I can remember there has never been a day without some fodder. I started in primary school with stories on guinea pigs. My mum used to take me to the library once a week. Then I moved on to the coming of age material, Hanni and Nanni. In between there were countless comic books. Newspapers would soon join in the circle. There were weekly journals and daily papers.

I guess we did not really have a tv growing up, when I was around 12 we got our first tv. It was as big as an ipad, in black and white, and was stored in my parents bedroom. If I wanted to watch I had to carry it three flights of stairs down. Quite a deterrent. Didn’t stop me though, but I was still reading. My parents always had a huge library at home, too, so I would read their material.

My dad is a mathematician, physicist and theologian. My mum majored in pedagogy. I would read case studies with 15, maybe not recommendable, as I would self diagnose borderline disorder and other such things, for I was totally not trained in diagnosing, let alone, self-diagnosing. There was German literature, Greek classic tales, autobiographies of everyone who ever contributed significantly to society, all within my arms reach.

Evenings were filled with conversation about current affairs and church politics whilst listening to classic music. Strangely, though, I have never quite taken to classic music as I have to reading even though I was forcefully exposed to either. During my studies I would read, in my time off I would listen to audio books. On holidays I would use the plane time to catch up on reading, since uni time was filled with obligatory reading.

Loo breaks were filled with reading, trash mags nonetheless. During meal times I would read labels, the only time I can’t read is on a long distance bus (short distance is fine, I always schedule my TIME reading period for public transport) and during car rides. Much more reason to stock up on audio books. Do you know librivox? It’s free, oh, fantastic hours spent tidying the room while listening to Poe, Green and other friends. I love you letters, and, most of all, I love the word incarnate, it’s only logical, right?

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/readers-block/

