Anti Authority

by theodotdoron

Raised by a mom who valued new findings of the pedagogy movement during the hippie era as gospel, discipline was not part of my staple food when growing up. Consequently, developing a daily routine came to me as hard work. Often times, I would falter under the weight of it. It took time to appreciate my otherness in that respect, in particular, as I had not been able to adopt a certain external schedule due to our continual moving around the world. People don’t all view things equally, I quickly came to learn, and so a relativism formed within me. Coupled with an anti authoritarian view of the world, routine as a form of norm was naturally rejected. At times I think that may be one of the reasons I identify with prisoners so strongly. At least on an emotional level I can relate to being trapped (as any form of norm still presents itself as an entrapment to me) and I can comprehend and almost at times appreciate the kind of thinking underlying certain non-violent crimes, for it is a creativity outside the box that is required to question the status quo in order to achieve ones goal. Well, saying that, I do not suffer from the societal backlash of being imprisoned nor from the punishment an imprisonment places upon a person with all its internal rules. I guess fighting for a routine is one of the hardest things I have had to do in my life, and I can empathise with those who shudder at the prospect of having to hit the outside world, trying to make it in a world that essentially reeks alien to them.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Daily Ritual.”

